Attitude of Gratitude

My work has just started an Attitude of Gratitude challenge, and I wanted to extend that here, inviting all of you to join me in it.

I’ve thought about (and written about) giving thanks before, but I think it’s an important topic to revisit. It’s so easy to get wrapped up in negativity. If we take one look at the news or the weather forecast or the things our neighbor has that we don’t, we quickly find ourselves spiraling down into discontentment or worse.

But if we set aside time to give thanks for the things we do have, we can add a little sunshine to what might otherwise be a rather dreary day. We may not change our circumstances, but in choosing to be grateful, we can change how we respond to the world around us.

Here’s how the challenge works: My company’s Attitude of Gratitude challenge runs for four weeks. Each day, we’re asked to list three things we’re grateful for and actually write them down. This forces those of us who chose to participate to really think about what we’re thankful for in an intentional way.

We’re also given weekly challenges alongside the daily lists of things we’re grateful for. This week we’re encouraged to adopt a “gift mentality,” considering everything we’ve been given as a gift (friendships, sunshine, our favorite cup of tea, time to ourselves, books, whatever we may have), thereby allowing us to experience greater appreciation for the little things in life that often get overlooked.

I’m excited to see how this challenge affects my mood and attitude. When my first response is one of offense and entitlement, I know I need to check myself and step back, choosing to not be so easily upset and focus instead on being thankful for what I do have. There are so many things I overlook on a daily basis that I would miss if they weren’t there. Joy can be found in the little things, and I aim to start really looking for it. Will you join me?

Today, I am grateful for:

  1. An opportunity to get dinner with my college roommates tonight to reconnect
  2. Technology that allows me to stay connected with my loved ones
  3. Good books

What three things are you grateful for today? What little “gifts” are you most thankful for?

 

 

Image source: http://www.elephantjournal.com/2013/11/10-super-awesome-totally-hit-the-mark-quotes-about-gratitude/

4 thoughts on “Attitude of Gratitude

Leave a Reply

