August Favorites

I thought it would be fun if I took a moment each month to let you know what things are currently striking my fancy, so here goes the August installment!

Current favorites:

Song: Desert Song by Hillsong. I painted the lyrics of the bridge of this song on a canvas so that I might remind myself of their truth frequently. “All of my life, in every season, You are still God. I have a reason to sing. I have a reason to worship.”

Book: 7: An Experimental Mutiny Against Excess by Jen Hatmaker. As I continue to read more about simplifying and living life purposefully, I am continually challenged to change my behaviors to align with the new values I’m developing. This latest book has made me rethink my approaches to food, clothing, possessions, finances, and how I spend my time.

Verse: Ephesians 3:20- “Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us…” I love to just take a minute to try to comprehend the fact that the God of the universe is currently at work within us, doing things that far exceed our expectations, things that far surpass our wildest dreams. Nothing is too big or too small for Him, and His plan is far too big and grand for us to fully understand.

Food: I combined a couple recipes for an Asian noodle salad (this one and this one), and it was delicious! It had edamame, snow peas, carrot strips, red cabbage, cilantro, whole-wheat pasta (because I couldn’t find soba noodles at the time), and a dressing of ginger, garlic, soy sauce, lime juice, sesame oil, olive oil, and rice wine vinegar, topped with sesame seeds. I got excited about it each time I ate a bowl.

App: GoodRx. It doesn’t sound too exciting, but I’ve been able to save a lot of money buying prescriptions with the use of the coupons this app/website has provided after just a quick search.

Movie: Beauty and the Beast. I recently re-watched this classic Disney princess movie and was reminded of all the reasons I loved it so much as a child. Belle is my favorite Disney princess, mostly since she loves to read, living in her own little world. I have always been envious of the Beast’s extensive library and intrigued by the talking objects in the mansion (Lumiere, Cogsworth, Mrs. Potts, and especially Chip). And who doesn’t love a movie that teaches kids that a kind heart is more important than a beastly appearance, and kindness in one person can bring out the kindness in another?

Now it’s your turn. What are some of your favorite things?

Leave a Reply

