July Favorites

I thought it would be fun if I took a moment each month to let you know what things are currently striking my fancy, so here goes the July installment!

Current favorites:

Song: Little Toy Guns by Carrie Underwood. I like how this song emphasizes the power of our words. We too often underestimate the weight our words carry, saying things without first thinking about how our words might impact others, and the lyrics of this song remind me to take an extra moment to think about what I choose to say.

Book: Radical by David Platt. This book has been rocking my world lately. I probably highlighted at least half of the text, if not more. If you’ve ever felt like you were meant for more than comfortable Christianity, I highly recommend you read this book. Even if you haven’t been longing for that, I still recommend it. It will challenge your comfort zone and dare you to step outside of it with large, bounding leaps, but in the best possible way.

Blog: It’s the Start of Something New. I love the joy with which the author writes her posts, making it evident that she really cares about what she’s writing about. She writes about a wide variety of topics, so I’m always pleasantly surprised when I see an update with a post I have yet to read. And her photography is great!

Food: Fruit and yogurt parfaits. So sweet. So summery. I’ve been having a lot of them lately. For snacks and breakfasts, and even once for dinner last week. Some sweet berries, stone fruit, or bananas, along with some plain Greek yogurt, granola, and a sprinkling of chia seeds, and I’m set for a delectable treat. Some of my favorite combinations have been strawberry kiwi and blueberry banana.

App: Feedly. I use this more on my computer than on my phone, but I really like it! It allows me to corral all the blogs I want to read into one place so that I can more easily keep up with all of them. I have mine categorized into topics like food, lifestyle, wellness, and simplicity, allowing me to skim through articles one topic at a time, but I more often read them from the homepage, which shows the most recent articles in each category.

Pastime: Reading. I’ve been reading a lot lately, and it’s been wonderful! I finished rereading C.S. Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia series as a tribute to my childhood, along with Wonder by R.J. Palacio (which was fabulous), Starring Sally J. Freedman as Herself by Judy Blume (so funny!), 150 Pounds: A Novel of Waists and Measures (good contrast of opinions) by Kate Rockland, and now I’m reading Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver and Mansfield Park by Jane Austen. I forgot how much I love reading her books!

Movie: Up. Okay, maybe not really my favorite, but it’s been on my mind a lot lately since I’m planning a themed dinner and movie night for my roommates with this movie as the focal point. And I’m getting really jazzed about it as I continue to pull all of the details together.

 

Now it’s your turn. What are some of your favorite things?

One thought on “July Favorites

  1. jacklynp22 says:

    I am so honored that you picked my blog! :0) I feel so special! I am glad that you enjoy my posts, let me know if you want me to post something specific.

    Like

Leave a Reply

