June Favorites

I thought it would be fun if I took a moment each month to let you know what things are currently striking my fancy, so here goes the June installment!

Current favorites:

Song: Holy Spirit by Francesca Battistelli. I have realized over the last couple years that my favorite portion of most songs is the bridge. They tend to be catchy and heartfelt, the climax of the song. This one is no different. While I resonate with the entire song, the bridge is my favorite part. It simply repeats “Let us become more aware of Your presence; let us experience the glory of Your goodness” over and over. It serves to remind me that His presence is all around me, if only I would pay more attention to it, and He is infinitely good.

Book: The Chronicles of Narnia series by C.S. Lewis. I read these books as a child and have been re-reading them lately. Going back to these stories makes me feel like a kid again, and I think the books are simply fabulously written. My copies are illustrated, too, so that adds even more entertainment value to them. I have been devouring the stories of all the interesting characters and enjoying the parallels that can be drawn to Scripture.

Blog: Half Baked Harvest. I’m not entirely sure how I stumbled upon this gem of a blog (how do any of us happen upon half the things we read on the internet?), but I’m glad I did. Tieghan, the author of the blog, seems similar to me in many ways, except that she spends here time making and blogging about delicious culinary creations. I want to be more like her in that. Her posts are really detailed, and all the food looks so amazing!

Food: Curry. I know, I know, that’s like saying I like soup. It’s really generic. But it’s different every time I make it, since I always end up tweaking the recipe based on what I have on hand or what ingredients I like/don’t like. This is the most recent one I tried. I omitted the chicken since I didn’t have much left, and did about 1.5 times the amounts called for so I could have leftovers.

TV Show: I know it’s been years since it was airing new episodes, but Friends will forever be one of my favorite TV shows. I didn’t jump on the bandwagon with Friends until high school, but quickly fell in love with the charismatic characters of the show, and I haven’t looked back since. Two of my roommates have the complete series on DVD, and now that the show is on Netflix, I can say I’ve seen all of the episodes at least twice.

YouTube Channel: FitnessBlender. I use this channel to mix and match workout videos to target different areas (cardio, legs, arms, abs, etc.). I really like the fact that the trainers emphasize the inclusion of active rest periods so that you can get a breather between moves without completely stopping and standing still, interrupting your workout flow. I also like the wide variety of videos and exercises available. They’re really challenging, but it’s the kind of challenge that gives me a sense of accomplishment when I’m finished and sometimes leaves me sore the next day, so I’m a big fan of it. I also just ventured over to their website, which has some delicious-looking recipes!

Now it’s your turn. What are some of your favorite things?

5 thoughts on “June Favorites

  1. Like you Friends will forever be one of my favorite TV programs, however, I will never admit to how many times I’ve likely seen each episode! My favorite song these days is probably “brother” by Need to Breathe, although I enjoy many of their songs. My favorite food is a wrap that I’ve been enjoying for lunch with a wheat wrap, turkey, tomato, lettuce, red onion and a little mayo. YUM. Now I’m hungry. And lastly my favorite blogs would definitely be LiveLikeLoveblog and It’sTheStartOfSomethingNewblog Keep ’em coming!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad you like Needtobreathe! They’re amazing. Your wrap sounds delicious (of course, you had to go ruin it with the mayo : ) ). Haha, I made it through all but the last sentence of your comment without looking at who wrote it. : ) Thanks, Mom!

      Like

Leave a Reply

